New Music Finds: A bit of Ray, Joshua and Todd

It’s been a lil while since I posted new music finds – oops…

A few months ago I discovered artist Ray LaMontagne – Yep I’ve obviously been living under rocks or something – How did I not hear his music before? Beautiful vocals and lyrics. I love that husky gritty vocal. And guitars. It’s bliss to my ears. There are 4 albums already out – one of my fave tracks is ‘Be Here Now‘ and I adore the B&W video too. Influenced by Bob Dylan and Ray Charles amongst others. If you like that sound, have a watch of this.

Joshua James is up next. I really don’t know how I came across him but super glad I did.  I checked him out on youtube and his track ‘Coal War‘ is simply astounding. Lyrics like ‘Now a note to the President, and the Government, and the judges of this place.
We’re still waitin’ for you to bring our troops home, [and] clean up that mess you made.
‘Cause it smells of blood, money and oil across the Iraqi land. But it seems so easy here to blind us with your “United We Stand” on ‘Crash This Train‘ is so real and you can feel the emotion and connect when you hear the track. His music reminds me of road-tripping across in Australia on  sun blazing days and monsoon rain settling in for the night.

Last but not least, Todd Dorigo. He hails from Manchester and has been writing and gigging around for 7 years. I heard his music and it made me wanna get up and dance…. HAPPY DAYS style! These guys are rockin’ and rollin’ – massively influenced by the likes of The Rolling Stones, The Kinks, Elvis Costello and John Lennon. The music makes me want to stand up and dance! 

Enjoy!

P x

 

One thought on “New Music Finds: A bit of Ray, Joshua and Todd

Leave a Reply

