Through the Lens: 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started this blog when I was away travelling, it was a way for me to share photos whilst I was away & keep friends & fam updated whilst on the road. Somewhere along the lines it turned into more.

As I wrote a similar post at the back end of 2012, I wrapped up the year having shot alot of weddings and few other projects here and there. (Check it here).

This past year I’ve had so many amazing opportunities to go back to where I started, shooting music. It’s where my heart’s at, I’d be fooling myself and regret it one day if I didn’t dedicate my focus to it 150% to see where it takes me. Yep crazy little me is essentially wingin’ it and seeing what happens….

It’s incredibly challenging to walk away from something that gives you stability, to walk back to something that involves so much risk taking and takes longer to maybe establish yourself in. It’s not only about the quality of your work, it’s about the people you meet along the way, the opportunities they have for you, the opportunities you seek, selling yourself, marketing, representing YOURSELF. So many different elements. Your truly out of your depth!! God knows I’ve stood in certain situations thinking ‘What the fuck am I doing? Why did I just say that’ CRIIINGE!

This past year has been crazy, I’m one of those people who constantly question what I’m doing, how well am I doing it and can I be doing more to better my work. I’m my own worst critic, I picked up an order today and had the guy reprint some documents for me cause the text didn’t line up quite right. Yeah I’m THAT person on a Sunday morning asking them to shift the text over this way and that way and drop this a little here and move it over there please. I always say please. If your doing something, doing it right, or as best you can!

I learnt alot this past year, craaazzy amount of ‘alot’…..

Some – In no particular order –

– People will scope you and your work out, more so if they feel threatened by your work. They will flat out try to break you – fuck them – If they are insecure about their work – the issue lies with them not you. Keep your head down and keep going. It’s not about ego, it’s about being humble but knowing your work’s worth and time. It’s not a 9-5 it’s a lifestyle. Know your worth. Through and through.

– Have no expectations – Make the most of every opportunity you have. The grass is always greener, if opportunities are taken away from you, that’s totally fine, keep bettering your work and if it speaks for itself, the right opportunities will present themselves if and when your seeking them.

– Unfortunately it’s easy to label and tag people. Be aware of who you are surrounding yourself with & who you associate yourself with.

– Follow your gut instinct. If your blessed to be intuitive – FOLLOW THAT INTUITION. Can’t even stress it enough – If your getting bad vibes about certain situations and people, steer away from them. It’s as simple as that.

– Sharing is caring! Never underestimate the power of reaching out and helping someone – through work or personal affairs. Help because you WANT to, not because you have any EXPECTATIONS. Expectations are the devils work! But some people will flat out try and take advantage of you – this is where you follow your gut instinct!

– Social Weirdia – Plenty of odd balls online. Be careful what you tweet! Be weary of who you associate yourself with even on social media. Inc Facebook!

– Don’t forget to celebrate your achievements, no matter how little or big they are. Remember, the little things make the big things happen 😉 Give yourself a pat on the back!

Who knows what the new year will bring – Chances are there will be ups and downs as per norm! That’s all part of the journey though isn’t it?! The in-between is just…. that!

A HUGE thank you to everyone who I’ve had the opportunity to meet and shoot this year – Your faces are all part of the bigger picture. You guys are INCREDIBLY talented and I wish you guys all the success in the world!!

For you guys who I’ve turned to for help / opportunities – I THANK YOU for any and every opportunity you’ve able to help with. You know who you are!

For my subscribers, massive thank you for sticking by it and tuning in to my updates and going ons! It’s motivation to keep this thing updated 😉

Here’s to 2014 and reaping what you sow….

2013 from behind the lens…

january
Sold my first print to the general public through an exhibition at this mini exhibit in Manchester.
rick_kevill_pshikotra_photography_manchester_music
Rick Kevill
feb
The power of Love… Sam & Chris’s beau wedding day
march
Finalist in Professional Photographer of the Year contest – Fashion category
april
Paul aka Needles of The Defiled. Some one on one time between takes to capture some shots with the kit. Love shooting one on one with a subject that’s generally difficult to shoot at a gig! Poor drummers!

april2

june4

june1
Shot these guys live at Ritz back in 2012 – The Dunwells. One of the first gigs I shot after spending a year abroad & most of that was spent in the outback away from anything and everything! …. Untouchable feeling getting back to it. Caught up with the guys pre-show in Manchester to shoot some portraits. By far one of my fave coloured shots from 2012.
july
This shot is still standing proudly backstage at Manchester Arena…. It was presented on open night in a gallery in NYC back in July. Gutted I wasn’t there!
july2
Published to print alongside Kevin Cummins work
july5
Print makes images come alive – Shot used for promo material
july6
Massive goal achieved – Contribution to The Fly magazine in print – July 2013 issue
jul4
Shot from the crowd – Miss P!nk doing her thang! Truth About Love Tour 2013

 

july3
Shot from the crowd – Miss P!nk doing her thang!

augustaugust2august3august4

 

fly2
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – The Fly December 2013 Issue

april3 april4

september1
Shoot with Severed Fate – Incredibly talented
september2
Kez – Severed Fate

 

september3
Ben – Severed Fate
september5
Curse – The Defiled – On set of ‘As I Drown’ music video
september6
The Defiled – On set of ‘As I Drown’ music video
september4
Curse – The Defiled – On set of ‘As I Drown’ music video
march2
On-going work with Puppet Rebellion. There no doubt making waves in 2014 – Keep an ear out
september7
On-going work with Puppet Rebellion. There no doubt making waves in 2014 – Keep an ear out
october
Bastille live in Manchester
october1
The Airbourne Toxic Event live in Manchester
october2
Nikki & Peter’s big day
october3
The Orielles
october4
The Orielles
october5
The Orielles
nov3
Imagine Dragons – Manchester Apollo – Incredible night
nov5
Imagine Dragons – Manchester Apollo – Incredible night
nov4
Imagine Dragons – Manchester Apollo – Incredible night
dec1
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Live in Manchester

 

dec2
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Live in Manchester
dec3
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Live in Manchester
nov11
Frightened Rabbit Live in Manchester
nov12
Frightened Rabbit Live in Manchester

 

nov13
Frightened Rabbit Live in Manchester
nov14
Deap Vally – Live in Manchester
nov15
Deap Vally – Live in Manchester
nov16
Deap Vally – Live in Manchester
nov17
Toy – Live in Manchester – JD Roots Tour
nov18
Toy – Live in Manchester – JD Roots Tour
november1
Dave Hause for Talenthouse – Manchester
november2
Dave Hause for Talenthouse – Manchester
dec5
Danny – The Virginmarys
dec6
Ally – The Virginmarys
dec7
Matt – The Virginmarys
nov6
The Struts for Localwolves Magazine
nov7
The Struts for Localwolves Magazine
nov8
The Struts for Localwolves Magazine
nov9
The Struts for Localwolves Magazine
nov10
The Struts for Localwolves Magazine

 

dec4
Deez Nuts at Sound Control Manchester
dec8
Barry Ashworth – Dub Pistols at Sound Control Manchester

See you guys on the other side!!

P x

www.pshikotra.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

