Live: Gavin Degraw – Manchester Academy 2 – 28.02.14

Last time I saw Gavin Degraw live was 2 years ago, at the same venue and a few weeks out from the date above. I was totally in awe with his live performance. It was the first time I caught him at a live show and was super excited to see him there.

This year round, I was meaning to buy tickets for his gig after seeing the tour announced last year.  Friend left it to me and yes, the shit thing happened. It SOLD OUT. I thought they might upgrade the venue but that never happened. If you follow me on twitter, you’ll have seen my many a tweet about the devestation about it haha. (Sorry to have bore you!)

I manage to get accreditation for the gig – I was so stoked about it!

If you haven’t heard of Gavin Degraw’s music yet, I pity you (just kiddin’, but seriously go check out his music if you haven’t already). For any One Tree Hill fan you will most likely know him through his track ‘I Don’t Want To Be’. It’s how I first came across his music.

His latest album Make A Move dropped in 2013. He’s taken his music into a bit of a different direction. Brilliant album from Track 1 through to 11 though! His live show is just amazing, it’s no wonder he’s joining legendary Billy Joel on tour after his European Tour Dates.

He’s such an underdog still though! Especially over here in the UK.

Either way, it was one of the best nights I’ve ever shot so far – I left speechless and woke up the next morning with the same feeling.

To shoot a gig is one thing, but to shoot an artist that you’ve been following for a few years and totally dig their sound, that feeling was incredible!! For all the crap you deal with trying to shoot music, that night was perfection. Anytime I get pissed off, I’ll be mentally remembering that evening and it’s gonna help me to remain focussed on the bigger picture.

Maybe next time we’ll get to shoot some portraits, who knows!

Here’s a set from the night, and be sure to have a listen to Best I Ever Had below!

tumblr_n1u7ebuzKL1r944cho1_1280
Gavin Degraw // Shot for Local Wolves Magazine

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy2

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy5

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy11

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy3

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy6

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy4

2 of my personal fave from the night are these – I went into the show wanting this first exact shot – it was a long shot. I reckon Gavin might be a little psychic you know…. 😉

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy7

priti_shikotra_gavin_degraw_manchesteracademy9

Shot for Local Wolves Magazine – Be sure to check them out here

P x
www.pshikotra.com

If you’d like to be kept up to date with new work and going on’s, hit the ‘Follow’ button on this blog

One thought on “Live: Gavin Degraw – Manchester Academy 2 – 28.02.14

Leave a Reply

