Being grateful…

It’s Friday night, 20:07 to be precise.  I’ve been up since 4:30am, it’s been a hectic week and I’m sat watching a concert on YouTube of a band I’m shooting next Friday, and I just had a moment of..I don’t even know what the word is for it.

Couple of years back, I fell into shooting music, accidentally. I can lie and say it’s not an obsession but actually, it is. The next shot is always going to be the best one….

I started shooting at local venues, Dry Bar was my one of my fave’s here in Manchester, a basement grimy dirty venue. Night & Day Cafe, Roadhouse, Kraak, Castle, Factory, some others. Along the way, portraits have become an obsession… & some how I’ve been so fortunate and lucky and blessed to be able to shoot at some of the venues I grew up going to shows at.

I saw Spice Girls with a good friend of mine at Manchester Arena. I saw Korn there. I saw Good Charlotte at Apollo, Manchester. I saw 5ive there. I have stubs from so so many shows.

I’ve been lucky enough to recently shoot Linkin Park at Manchester Arena, bucketlist band Korn & Slipknot both at the arena. Ed Sheeran. Jessie J recently at Manchester Apollo.

And I’m lucky enough to be in the pit. I repeat. In. the. pit.

It sounds whack cause when I was 16 and going to shows, I use to get so up close to the stage to try get that clean shot of the frontman or the guitarist, on a point and shoot just for memory sake.

You see, no-one truly understands your journey the way you do. They don’t see the lows of your situation, whatever that might be, they just see the highs. They don’t see or feel or experience any of the no’s and knock backs you get or the number of times you have tried for a certain opportunity, they just see the photos or the end result, whatever that might be.

It’s easy to say to some one you should quit this, it’s not working out. But do you know how hard someone’s worked for that one opportunity that might seem so minuscule to you but such a biggie to the other person?

The industry gives you thick skin, it’s good though. It makes you work harder and keeps you hungry, work on your craft. After all if you want to leave a stamp on the world, you gotta work for it….no matter what industry.

Don’t hate the person who’s working 18 hour days to succeed and smash their goals and dreams, instead, encourage them.

There’s enough assholes out there. Don’t be one of them.

I’m so grateful and thankful for every opportunity I’ve have had so far & I wouldn’t trade a single experience for anything.

Good and bad!!

Who knows what the future holds. I still have so many things I want to achieve with this thing….. If I’m lucky enough to be able to do it.

I didn’t think I’d smash some of these goals, I guess, never say never.

Here’s to being grateful and appreciating each and every opportunity, as if it’s your first and last.

As Steve Jobs once said, Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish!!!!

Always stay true to yourself and your passion, work on it day by day. Reap what you sow….no matter the pace.

Have a great weekend!

P x

www.pshikotra.com

Leave a Reply

